Experience a well-known landmark in Palm Beach via a behind-the-scenes tour that will take you through the grounds of Bethesda-by-the-Sea. The walking tour will include familiar spaces such as the church and the Cluett Memorial Garden as well as the private spaces of the archives and rectory. The rectory was built in the Spanish tradition by Marion Sims Wyeth in 1924, and is used for the private home of the rector. Each space will be guided by a historian of the church.
Bethesda-by-the-Sea, or “House of Healing by the Sea,” has a long and storied history. Its first incarnation dates back to 1886, when the congregation met in a frame vernacular building now known as the “Little Red Schoolhouse.” Three years later, the congregation moved to its own building, also a simple wooden structure. By 1895, the church needed to expand in order to accommodate its growing congregation, and built a Moorish influenced church on the Lake Trail. After three decades, the congregation of Bethesda once again outgrew its facility and sought to build a gothic cathedral in paradise. The cornerstone of Bethesda’s third and current iteration, including a tower nearly two hundred feet tall, was laid in 1925 by renowned New York architectural firm Hiss & Weekes.
The walking tour is generously underwritten by:
Ober Fine Art, LLC