Bradley Park Beautification
Over the summer of 2017, the Preservation Foundation transformed Bradley Park through a $2.7 million project that was able fully realize Colonel E.R. Bradley’s vision for a town-serving park along the shore of Lake Worth. Bradley’s famous Beach Club, a gambling casino frequented by guests of Henry Flagler’s resorts, and personal residence were once located there. Upon his death in 1946, Bradley willed the land to the Town for use as a park. All buildings were demolished with the exception of the historic tea house.
Enhancements include a quarter-mile-long meandering stone dust path that incorporates benches and leads pedestrians through a series of exhibition gardens separated by tall Podocarpus hedges. Internationally-recognized landscape architects will be commissioned for the design of these four unique gardens.
The historic tea house was improved with a flagstone terrace and a restored Artemis Fountain at its center. An existing restroom east of the tea house was demolished and replaced with a new facility. Chinese screens and hand-made tiles decorate the façade and reference the Chinese fireplace located inside the tea house.
Increasing accessibility, a new entrance was added to the northeast corner of the park. The Lake Trail was extended along the existing sea wall and an overlook structure, inspired by the demolished Casa Bendita tennis pavilion, constructed. Permanent open space in the center of the park was leveled and resodded. A collection of shade trees, additional landscaping, and lighting completes the project.